Spring 2022 Department of Biomedical Informatics Colloquium Series

Location: The Offices at Baum Room 407A/B

Date Time Presentersort descending Affiliation Website Title
01/28/2022 11am - 12pm April Sagan, PhD & Sanghoon Lee, PhD University of Pittsburgh https://www.dbmi.pitt.edu/people/postdoc Utilizing spatial transcriptomics data to identify cell context-specific regulatory programs (Sagan) & Chromatin accessibility landscape in primary human invasive lobular and ductal breast carcinomas (Lee)
01/21/2022 11am - 12pm Denis Newman-Griffis, PhD & Robert Gregg, PhD University of Pittsburgh https://dbmi.secure.pitt.edu/people/postdoc From Double Edges to One: Advancing Health Equity in Clinical Data Science (Newman-Griffis) & Leveraging Causal Modeling to Predict COPD Progression (Gregg)
02/18/2022 11am - 12pm Hassan Ghasemzadeh,PhD Arizona State University https://chs.asu.edu/hassan-ghasemzadeh Label-Efficient Machine Learning in Mobile Health
02/25/2022 11am - 12pm Heather Piwowar, PhD OurResearch https://www.linkedin.com/in/heatherpiwowar/?originalSubdomain=ca Building Tools for Open Science
04/22/2022 11am - 12pm Hua Xu, PhD, FACMI University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston https://sbmi.uth.edu/faculty-and-staff/hua-xu.htm Practicing Natural Language Processing in Healthcare
04/01/2022 11am - 12pm Julia Adler-Milstein, PhD University of California, San Francisco https://profiles.ucsf.edu/julia.adler-milstein Turning Digital Fumes into a Breath of Fresh Air
04/08/2022 11am - 12pm Kenrick Cato, PhD, RN Columbia University School of Nursing https://datascience.columbia.edu/people/kenrick-cato/ Articulating Judgment Into Clinical Decision Support: Phenotyping risk for deterioration from electronic patient data
02/04/2022 11am - 12pm Michael Becich, MD, PhD University of Pittsburgh https://dbmi.secure.pitt.edu/person/michael-j-becich-md-phd State of the Biomedical Informatics Department
04/15/2022 11am - 12pm Nigam Shah, MBBS, PhD Stanford University https://profiles.stanford.edu/nigam-shah Bridging the AI chasm with work-flow aware models
02/11/2022 11am - 12pm Nishanth Nair, PhD National Cancer Institute https://ccr.cancer.gov/staff-directory/nishanth-ulhas-nair Transcriptomics based prediction of survival and response to therapy in malignant mesothelioma
03/11/2022 11am - 12pm No Colloquium SPRING BREAK
04/29/2022 11am - 12pm Olga Kravchenko, PhD & Stephanie Frisch, PhD University of Pittsburgh https://dbmi.secure.pitt.edu/people/postdoc Evaluating risk of DOAC-Dexamethasone Induced Thrombosis in the N3C Enclave (Kravchenko) & Machine Learning and Assessment of Unstructured Data in Emergency Medicine (Frisch)
03/04/2022 11am - 12pm Patrick Carrington, PhD Carnegie Melloin University https://www.hcii.cmu.edu/people/patrick-carrington From Content to Intent: Creating Accessible User Experiences with Social Media
01/14/2022 11am - 12pm Sunmoo Yoon, PhD, RN Columbia University https://datascience.columbia.edu/people/sunmoo-yoon/ Application of artificial intelligence, machine learning and visualization to big data to reduce health disparities
03/25/2022 11am - 12pm Suzanne Tamang, PhD Stanford University https://web.stanford.edu/~stamang/ Next Generation Informatics for Population Health Management and Measurement
03/18/2022 11am - 12pm Trevor Cohen, MBChB, PhD, FACMI University of Washington http://bime.uw.edu/faculty/trevor-cohen/ Using Neural Language Representations to Detect Linguistic Manifestations of Mental Status
^